Sign In | Register

The Golden Cockerel Press

_PUBLISHER_ - First Edition Identification and Publisher Information

The Golden Cockerel Press was founded in 1920 as a cooperative with four partners: Hal Taylor, Bee Blackburn, Pran Pyper, and Ethelwynne Stewart McDowell, but by the next year, Blackburn and Pyper had left. In 1923, the press published The Wedding Songs of Spenser with color wood engravings by Ethelbert White, the first illustrated book from the press and a foretaste of editions to come. Early the next year, the business was purchased by Robert Gibbings. Gibbings, a founding member of the Society of Wood Engravers, published some 71 titles at the press. Following the Great Depression, Golden Cockerel Press was taken over by Christopher Sandford, who transformed the company from a private press to a publishing house. Sandford published some 120 works for the press, including Llewellyn Powys' The Glory of Life, a large quarto with wood engravings by Gibbings, and introduced the company to a variety of new means for reproducing illustrations. In 1959, Sandford sold the business to Thomas Yoseloff, who completed the publication of the last Golden Cockerel titles. In 1961, Yoseloff ended the operation as the resources and skills necessary for production had become too difficult and costly to obtain.

First Edition Identification

First editions from The Golden Cockerel Press have no additional printings indicated on the copyright page.

Notable and collectible books published by The Golden Cockerel Press

Discuss this article

Subscribe now for a chance to win $50 in free books!

Related publishers

  • Heritage Press

    An imprint of George Macy Companies, Ltd., Heritage Press was founded in 1935. The Press printed more affordable classic volumes that were previously published by...
  • Nonesuch Press

    In 1922, Francis Meynell founded Nonesuch Press, along with his second wife Vera Mendel, and their mutual friend David Garnett, co-owner of Birrell & Garnett's...
  • Folio Society

    When Charles Ede, Christopher Sandford (of Golden Cockerel Press), and Alan Bott (founder of Pan Books) founded Folio Society in 1947, the goal of the...
  • Wesleyan University Press

    Founded (in its present form) in 1957, Wesleyan University Press is part of Connecticut’s Wesleyan University - the smallest college or university in the nation...

Published authors