Sign In | Register

Alfred A. Knopf

_PUBLISHER_ - First Edition Identification and Publisher Information

Alfred A. Knopf, Inc. was founded in 1915 and incorporated in 1918 with Alfred Knopf as president; his wife, Blanche Knopf, as vice president; and his father, Samuel Knopf, as treasurer. Alfred and Blanche traveled abroad regularly and became known for publishing European, Asian, and Latin American writers in addition to American writers. In 1923, Knopf also started publishing periodicals, beginning with The American Mercury. Knopf also produced a quarterly, The Borzoi Quarterly, for the purpose of promoting new books. At least 17 Nobel Prize and 47 Pulitzer Prize winning authors have been published by Knopf. The company was acquired by Random House in 1960 and published textbooks until 1988, when Random House's schools and colleges division was sold to McGraw-Hill. Alfred A. Knopf, Inc. is now part of the Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group at Random House, which is owned by the German private media corporation Bertelsmann.

First Edition Identification

Until about 1933, first editions from Alfred A. Knopf, Inc. had the same date on the title page and the copyright page or had no additional printings indicated on the copyright page. Around this time, first editions also sometimes stated "Published (Month or Year)" on the copyright page. Since about 1934, first editions have consistently stated "First Edition" with no additional printings indicated on the copyright page. Some 1970s titles, particularly children's books, have a sequence of numbers appears on the last printed page with "1" present in first editions.

Notable and collectible books published by Alfred A. Knopf

Discuss this article

Subscribe now for a chance to win $50 in free books!

Related publishers

  • Vintage Books

    Vintage Books was founded in 1954 by Alfred A. Knopf as a trade paperback home to its authors. This imprint’s diverse publishing list includes canonical...
  • Atheneum

    In 1959, Alfred A. Knopf, Jr. left his family publishing house to found Atheneum Books with Simon Michael Bessie of Harpers and Hiram Haydn of...
  • Oxmoor House

    Oxmoor House is the book publishing division of Southern Progress Corporation based in Birmingham, Alabama. The company was founded in 1979 with the first publication...
  • Arkham House

    Arkham House was founded by writers August Derleth and Donald Wandrei in 1939 with the publication of its first book, Howard Phillips Lovecraft's The Outsider...

Published authors