Book reviews from WarriorNY

New York, United States

Number of reviews
35
Average review
WarriorNY’s average rating is 4 of 5 Stars.
On Nov 30 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
Margaret Gray's first novel is a very cute and delightful original fairy tale. There is a prequel about Rose's parents called The Lovesick Saleman but it is not as good as this one.
On Nov 30 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
A wonderful collection of twelve short stories about ghosts. The first story is a new tale starring the main characters of three Bruce Coville books. The only one I didn't like very much was Mary Downing Hahn's story.

Sarah's Unicorn

by Bruce Coville Katherine Covill

On Nov 30 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
A charming tale about a girl and a unicorn with very beautiful illustrations by the author's wife. There is a sequel Sarah and the Dragon but I have not read it because that book is extremely rare.
On Nov 30 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
This book was a fitting end to Lloyd Alexander's career. It has all of the adventure and comedy and romance we have all come to expect from a Lloyd Alexander book.

Rapunzel's Revenge

by Dean Shannnon; Hale

On Nov 30 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
This was the very first graphic novel I ever read. It is a retelling of Rapunzel set in the Wild West about a red haired Rapunzel who rescues herself...and many others. I didn't really like the sequel Calamity Jack.

Bazil Broketail

by Christopher Rowley

On Nov 30 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 1 of 5 Stars.
This is an awful book. The author drags out a simple princess rescue story by loading it with sex and violence. A GOOD book puts the focus on an actual plot and engaging characters.

The Legend Of Luke

by Brian Jacques

On Nov 30 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
This is one of the best books in the Redwall series. We finally learn what happened to Martin the Warrior's father Luke after he goes on his quest for revenge. This is a fantastic book!

Rumble In the Jungle

by Michael Teitelbaum~Leif Peng

On Nov 30 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 3 of 5 Stars.
Donkey Kong and Diddy must rescue their kidnapped friend Funky from the Kremlings. I am a DK fan so I brought this book for 25 cents from a thrift store...and that is the perfect price for such a slim paperback.

Teenage Mermaid

by Schreiber- Ellen

On Nov 30 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 1 of 5 Stars.
A modern day version of the classic tale The Little Mermaid is a good idea...but the author messed it up badly. The writing was stupid and awful.
On Nov 30 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 1 of 5 Stars.
I was expecting this book to be a clever and funny parody of the fantasy genre...but it was just stupid and it wasn't funny at all. The only thing I liked about it was all of the references to other books.
On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
A beautifully illustrated picture book with a wonderful environmental message. Lynne Cherry's own lovely art highlights the story of Allegra the unicorn, Valerio the dragon and Princess Arianna.

Aloha Summer

by Bill Wallace

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
This is one of Bill Wallace's best works. It is a charming story of a boy in 1925 who moves from Oklahoma to Hawaii and becomes friends with a native girl.

Dream-Of-Jade

by Lloyd Alexander

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
A clever and beautiful cat named Dream-of- Jade gives Emperor Kwan-Yu of China friendship and advice in this gorgeous picture book of five different stories.

Fortune's Journey

by Bruce Coville

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
This book is very different from Bruce Coville's other books...but I think it is one of his best works. It does not have have ghosts or aliens or monsters but is it is a well-written adventure/romance story.

Child Of the Wolves

by Elizabeth Hall

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
A Husky puppy named Granite is adopted into a wolf pack...but not all the members of the pack are welcoming. This is a wonderful book about Granite's struggles to become accepted by his new family.
On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 1 of 5 Stars.
AWFUL book! The characters did not act like teenagers...they acted like very spoiled pre-schoolers! I hated this book in this overrated series.

Brisingr

by Christopher Paolini

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 1 of 5 Stars.
I HATED this boring and bloated book. Note to Christopher Paolini: You do not need to give every little event in a book its own chapter! Nobody cares about dwarf politics!

Inheritance

by Christopher Paolini

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 1 of 5 Stars.
This terrible book suffers from the same problem as the last one...every unimportant event had to take a whole chapter. There is no need to have a dialogue between two characters take an entire chapter or waste time on stupid details like a very minor character's cleft palette surgery.

Harry Potter and The Order Of the Phoenix

by J K / Grandpre, Mary Rowling

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 1 of 5 Stars.
This book would have been half as long if J.K. Rowling would have cut out hundreds of pages of Harry being whiny and Umbridge being a witch that starts with B. Harry is whiny and Umbrudge is evil....um...we get it, Rowling?

Deltora Quest Complete Boxed Set, Books 1-8

by Emily Rodda; Illustrator-Marc McBride

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
This is a very entertaining series. It is packed with riddles and plot twists and plenty of action. I recommend this to anyone who likes to read fantasy adventure books.

The Ravenmaster's Secret

by Elvira Woodruff

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
This is a wonderful historical fiction tale. It takes place in London in 1735 and is a fast paced adventure story about courage and friendship.

Age Of Aquariums

by David Cody; Weiss, Bobbi Jg Weiss

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 2 of 5 Stars.
This book has its own goofy version of the legend of the lost city of Atlantis. I have it since it was new in 1999...and even though I am never going to read it again I can't bear to give it away.

Cat Master

by Bonnie Pemberton

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
Buddy the cat must confront his evil brother Jett to gain the title of Cat Master, the spirtual leader of all felines. This is a really good book.

Malu's Wolf

by Ruth Craig

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
This is the author's version of how wolves became the friends of our ancestors...and the ancestors of all dogs. This is the only book Ruth Craig ever wrote and that is a shame. I would have loved to read other books from her!

Tailchaser's Song

by Tad Williams

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
This is Tad William's first novel and it was published when he was just 24. It is the story of a tomcat who goes in search of his missing friend. It starts off light hearted but gets darker and more intense as it goes on. This is a very worthy read.

The Adventures Of King Midas

by Lynne Reid Banks

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
A retelling of the story of King Midas. This is an adorable and enjoyable story. Midas and a young dragon go on a quest to remove Midas's golden touch after he turns his daughter into a gold statue.
On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 1 of 5 Stars.
HORRIBLE! This book was a total waste of time and a total waste of paper. I am serious, people...this book was THAT bad! Avoid it at all costs!

Let's Get Invisible!

by R L Stine

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
This was my favorite book when I was in grade school. It is one of the best books in the Goosebumps series. It has a very original storyline.

They Said It

by Patrick McDonnell

On Nov 29 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 4 of 5 Stars.
A cute little book. It is illustrated by Patrick McDonnell four years before he created the world famous comic strip Mutts. The quotes and the full color drawings are amusing.

Incredible Journey

by Sheila Burnford

On Nov 28 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
The Incredible Journey really is an incredible book. It is a simple story but Sheila Burnford conveys so much beauty into a mere 145 pages. The friendship of Luath, Bodger and Tao and their amazing trek to return home will touch your heart.

The Road To Balinor

by Mary Stanton

On Nov 28 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 1 of 5 Stars.
This is an awful book. The unicorns are no more than pretty ponies with horns on their heads. The writing was clunky.The ending was not even an ending...it just stopped. DO NOT waste your time on this terrible book!

Monkey

by David Kherdian

On Nov 28 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
Journey to the West is a classic Chinese epic. This is a short version of the tale. The Money King and his four companions go on a magical quest to get holy scriptures from India. This is a fun adventure story.

The Best Of Mutts

by Patrick McDonnell

On Nov 28 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
Mutts is my favorite comic strip ever and this book is a must have for any fan. It features many strips from 1994 to 2004 and itroductions to each different year by Patrick McDonell.

Thief Of Kalimar

by Graham Diamond

On Nov 28 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
Graham Diamond does not focus on sex and violence but on the plot and characters...and that is how a fantasy novel for adults should always be written. Ramagar and his companions must save their land from evil. It is a shame that this great book isn't a very well known one.

Bitten

by R L Stine

On Nov 28 2011, WarriorNY said:
WarriorNY rated this book 5 of 5 Stars.
This two book series is one of R.L. Stine's best works. The omnibus edition of Dangerous Girls and The Taste of Night is almost 600 pages but it is a fun and fast paced read.