Sign In | Register

The Novel Shoppe

Recent arrivals



Next >

Art of War Eyewitness U.S. Combat Art from the Revolution through the Twentieth Century

By Chenoweth, Col. H. Avery

Barnes & Noble. Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket. 2003. Stated 1st Edition. Stapled wraps. 0760748284 . Great world conflicts have produced not only great military heroes but also great artists who have documented the heroism and the bloody battles. Spanning wars that have involved U. S. Troops, this gallery of outstanding works of art ranges from majestic land, sea, and airscapes portraying all the branches of the armed services to closeups of hand-to-hand combat. The paintings are more expressive than photographs because they compress many experiences into a single view. Minor edgewear to this oversized book. ; Square 4to 9" - 11" tall; 384 pages; 31503 .

$20.00

World War II: Pacific
stock photo

World War II: Pacific

By Williams, Barbara

Lerner Publications Group. Very Good in Very Good dust jacket. 2005. 1st Edition. Hardcover. 0822501384 . List of major battles of world war II in the Pacific, with map. American Legion article laid in at title page. Previous owner left notes in a few pages that had a specific point to his role in WWII. He was a devotee of both WWII and Civil War history. ; Chronicle of America's Wars Series; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 96 pages .

$15.00

The Second World War In The East   A Multi-Volume History of War and  Warfare from Ancient to Modern Times
stock photo

The Second World War In The East A Multi-Volume History of War and Warfare from Ancient to Modern Times

By Willmott, H.P.

Cassell. Near Fine in Very Good dust jacket. 2000. Reprint. Hardcover. 0304352470 . B/W and color photos, charts, maps, etc. Small tear at head of DJ. ; History of Warfare Series; B&W and color Photographs; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 224 pages; 31502 .

$12.00

We Who Are Alive and Remain  Untold Stories from the Band of Brothers
stock photo

We Who Are Alive and Remain Untold Stories from the Band of Brothers

By Brotherton, Marcus

Berkley. Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket. 2009. Stated 1st Edition. Hardcover. 0425227634 . Presents the ordeal of war for the horror it truly is, yet it also shows how the indomitable spirit of ordinary citizens can prevail and triumph in the face of incredible odds. Includes photographs. Easy Company was made up of a lot of real heroes. ; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 320 pages; 31499 .

$15.00

Saving Italy  The Race to Rescue a Nation's Treasures from the Nazis
stock photo

Saving Italy The Race to Rescue a Nation's Treasures from the Nazis

By Edsel, Robert M.

W. W. Norton & Company. Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket. 2013. Stated 1st Edition; 1st Printing. Hardcover. 9780393082418 . "An astonishing account of a little-known American effort to save Italy's vast store of priceless monuments and art during World War II. While American warriors were fighting the length of the country, other Americans were courageously working alongside to preserve the irreplaceable best of Italy's Culture. Read it and be proud of those who were on their own front lines of a cruel war" -- Tom Brokaw. Previous owner's name underlined at pages 300-302, with tiny folded pages. Laid in at this spot are magazine articles and newspaper clippings, as well as a printed note from one of his relatives. Gift note on ffep. ; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 454 pages; 31498 .

$25.00

Letters from the Front
stock photo

Letters from the Front

By Millidge, Judith

Barron's Educational Series. Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket. 2002. Stated 1st Edition. Hardcover. 0764155377 . Head of spine bumped. ; Oblong Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 144 pages; 31501 .

$30.00

Jeb Stuart With Illustrations and Maps by the Author

By John W. Thomason Jr.

C. Scribner's sons. Very Good with no dust jacket. 1930. 1st Edition; 2nd Printing. Hardcover. Previous owner's name. Beverage circle on front board. ; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 512 pages .

$12.00

The Civil War, A Visual History

By Books, Parragon

Parragon Books. Near Fine. 2012. Softcover. 9781445499222 . Book still in pocket of folder, with unopened DVD on opposite side of folder. Elastic band holds the folder together, forming a hardcover. ; Gift Folder DVD Series; Square Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 31492 .

$18.00

Coming Fury The Centennial History of the Civil War, Volume One

By Bruce Catton; Director Of Research E.B. Long

Doubleday & Company, Inc. Very Good with no dust jacket. 1961. Reprint. Hardcover. Newspaper clipping about NAACP targeting Confederate flag plaque in Texas laid in at title page.. Previous owner's label on ffep, map endpapers. ; Vol. 1; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 565 pages; 31494 .

$10.00

A Country of Our Own   A Novel of the Civil War at Sea
stock photo

A Country of Our Own A Novel of the Civil War at Sea

By Poyer, David

Simon & Schuster. Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket. 2003. 1st Edition. Hardcover. 0684871343 . In the tradition of Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester, this is historical sea fiction at its best. This is the second volume of Poyer's epic novel cycle of the Civil War at sea. ; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 429 pages .

$12.00

Battle Road, Expedition to Lexington & Concord

By Bradford, Charles H.

Eastern National Park and Monument Association. Near Fine. 1988. Reprint. Stapled wraps. Originally published by the Rotary Club of Boston in 1975. Reprinted with the author's permission to serve the interpretive needs of Minute Man National Historical Park. Previous owner acquired this copy in his Boston trip and so noted on back of front cover. ; 89 pages; 31496 .

$10.00

All Afire To Fight : The Untold Tale Of The Civil War's Ninth Texas Cavalry
stock photo

All Afire To Fight : The Untold Tale Of The Civil War's Ninth Texas Cavalry

By Crabb, Martha L

Avon Books/Postroadpress. Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket. 2000. Stated 1st Edition. Hardcover. 038097794x . In October 1861, the young men of the Confederac's newly formed Ninth Texas Cavalry forded the Red River between Texas and what is now eastern Oklahoma. They would remain on active duty throughout the entire Civil War, moving from skirmish to skirmish with little rest and no furloughs, distinguishing themselves in several major campaigns across the South. Two of the Civil War soldiers profiled were her great-uncles. ; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 423 pages; 31488 .

$15.00

Two Roads to Sumter Abraham Lincoln, Jefferson Davis and the March to the Civil War

By Catton, William & Bruce

Castle. Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket. 2004. Reprint. Hardcover. 078581597x . The growth and development of both Lincoln and Davis is given showing the moral and intellectual forces that shaped the two figures that became the war leaders in the next decade. Laid in at title page is a newspaper clipping from Houston Chronicle on Feb. 18, 2000: Confederate flag in South Carolina in the news. Continuation article also there. Index. ; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 285 pages; 31485 .

$12.00

Gods and Generals A Novel of the Civil War

By Shaara, Jeff

Ballantine Books. Near Fine. 1997. 1st Edition Thus. Softcover. Newspaper clipping of article about supporters rallying for Confederate flag in South Carolina laid in. An alternate selection of the book-of-the-month club, the history book club and a main selection of the quality paperback book club. ; Civil War Trilogy Series; Small 8vo 7½" - 8" tall; 498 pages; 31497 .

$12.00

Enemy Women  A Novel
stock photo

Enemy Women A Novel

By Jiles, Paulette

William Morrow. Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket. 2002. 1st Edition; 7th Printing. Hardcover. 0066214440 . From the critically acclaimed, award-winning poet and memoirist Paulette Jiles comes a debut novel of startling power and savage beauty--an extraordinary story of survival and love in the midst of a torn nation's biitter agony [the Civil War]. Newspaper clipping about the confederate submarine that was retrieved from South Carolina's Charleston Bay after 136 years...supposedly built by a secret group of Texans, and was the first sub ever to sink an enemy ship. Clipping has an image of the submarine. ; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 321 pages; 31487 .

$15.00

War Songs and Poems of the Southern Confederacy 1861-1865
stock photo

War Songs and Poems of the Southern Confederacy 1861-1865

By Wharton, H. M.

Castle Books. Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket. 2000. Reprint. Hardcover. 0785812733 . A collection of the most popular and impressive songs and poems of war times, dear to every Southern heart. Collected and retold with personal reminiscences of the war. Author was a Private in General Lee's Army. A 31" x 20" poster is neatly folded and laid in at title page. ; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 412 pages; 31496 .

$15.00

The Story of the Confederacy New and Revised Edition with a Foreword by  Douglas Southall Freeman
stock photo

The Story of the Confederacy New and Revised Edition with a Foreword by Douglas Southall Freeman

By Henry, Robert Selph

Konecky & Konecky Military Books. Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket. 1999. Hardcover. 1568522533 . Long regarded as the most stirring and authoritative one-volume account of the brilliant, tragic years of the Confederacy, this new and revised edition of Robert Selph Henry's book is further distinguished by a special introduction written by the South's foremost historian, Douglas Southall Freeman. Laid in at title page is a 3-page magazine article about the "Lure of the Civil War". The first edition is also available. Oprah's book club selection. ; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 514 pages; 31490 .

$15.00

Don't Know Much About the Civil War Everything You Need to Know about  America's Greatest Conflict but Never Learned
stock photo

Don't Know Much About the Civil War Everything You Need to Know about America's Greatest Conflict but Never Learned

By Davis, Kenneth C

William Morrow. Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket. 1996. Stated 1st Edition. Hardcover. 0688118143 . Newspaper clipping about Mexico's discovery of slaves graves laid in at page 151. Includes a wealth of "hidden history", the lesser-known facts, sure to fascinate even the most learned Civil War buff. ; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 518 pages .

$15.00

The Story of the Confederacy New and Revised Edition

By Henry, Robert Selph. Foreword by Douglas Southall Freeman.

New Home Library. Very Good with no dust jacket. 1943. Hardcover. A synoptic table of events of the war between the states pages 471-493. A label of the silhouette with the Confederate flag pasted on front endpaper. Previous owner's note on rear fep. ; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 514 pages .

$10.00

Pearl Janis Joplin's Songbook

By Joplin, Janis

Warner Bros. Very Good. 1970. Softcover. Contents of the songs included: Buried Alive in the Blues; Cry Baby; Get it While You Can; Half Moon; Me and Bobby McGee; Mercedes Benz; Move Over; My Baby; Trust Me; a Woman Left Lonely. From her album with the same name. Lots of pictures. Edgewear, small scuff on cover. The cover is identical to the LP sleeve. ; B&W Photographs; Small 4to 9" - 11" tall; 72 pages; 31484 .

$25.00

Next >