Skip to content

Biblio logo: Used, Rare and Collectible Books for Sale

Prix Aurora Award

The Prix Aurora Award is one of the most unique literary awards currently being presented. Based in Canada, the Prix Aurora Awards honor the best in Science Fiction and Fantasy literature. There are a variety of award categories for professionally published works, including Best Novel, Best YA Novel, Best Short Fiction, Best Graphic Novel, Best Poem/Song, and Best Artist.

What makes the Prix Aurora Awards unusual is its inclusion of fan publication considered for nomination. Additional categories include Best Fan Publication, Best Fan Organizational Contribution, Best Fan Music, and Best Fan Related Work. While only English language work may be considered for the professional categories, works submitted in English or French may be considered for the fan/nonprofessional categories.

The works listed below are past winners for the Prix Aurora Award for Best Novel, and Phyllis Gotlieb was the first winner for her novel Judgment of Dragons in 1982. Other past winners include Robert J. Sawyer for Golden Fleece, William Gibson for Virtual Light, and Candas Jane Dorsey for Black Wine.

2012 Winner

Www By Robert J Sawyer

Award-winning author Robert J. Sawyer continues his "wildly though- provoking" science fiction saga of a sentient World Wide Web. Webmind is an emerging consciousness that has befriended Caitlin Decter and grown eager to learn about her world.... read more

2011 Winner

Www By Robert J Sawyer

Award-winning author Robert J. Sawyer continues his "wildly though- provoking" science fiction saga of a sentient World Wide Web. Webmind is an emerging consciousness that has befriended Caitlin Decter and grown eager to learn about her world.... read more

2010 Winner

Wake By Robert J Sawyer

A Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author joins Ace with a stunning new science fiction epic. Caitlin Decter is young, pretty, feisty, a genius at math, and blind. When she receives an implant to restore her sight, instead of seeing reality she p... read more

2009 Winner


Marseguro By Edward Willett

A BATTLE FOR SURVIVAL ON A DISTANT WATER WORLD After a worldwide disaster strikes Earth, the planet is taken over by a fanatical religious theocracy. Scientist Victor Hansen flees with a staff of non-genetically modified humans and young members... read more

2008 Winner

The New Moon's Arms

The New Moon's Arms By Nalo Hopkinson

THE NEW MOON?S ARMS is a mainstream magical realism novel set in the Caribbean on the fictional island of Dolorosse. Calamity, born Chastity, has renamed herself in a way she feels is most fitting. She?s a 50-something grandmother whose mother disapp... read more

2006 Winner


Cagebird By Karin Lowachee

Pirate Protege At age four, Yuri Kirov watched his home colony destroyed by the alien enemy. By six, he was a wounded soul, fending for himself in a desolate refugee camp, and still a child when the pirates found him. Now twenty-two, Yuri is a killer... read more

2005 Winner

Wolf Pack

Wolf Pack By Edo Van Belkom

Bram Stoker and Aurora Award-winner Edo van Belkom is the author of over 200 stories of horror, science fiction, fantasy, and mystery. As an editor, he has four anthologies to his credit that include two books for young adults, Be Afraid! (A Canadi... read more

2002 Winner

In the Company Of Others

In the Company Of Others By Julie E Czerneda

When the terraforming crews introduced the alien Quill to worlds where they did not belong, they saw them only as a mindless form of fungal life. But the Quill multiplied and mutated until they were no longer harmless. In the ensuing chaos, many s... read more

1999 Winner


Darwinia By Robert Charles Wilson

Cover illustration by Jim Burns. Cover design by blacksheep. Prices UK £5.99, AUS $14.95.

1997 Winner


Starplex By Robert J Sawyer

Robert J. Sawyer has been called “the dean of Canadian science fiction” by The Ottawa Citizen . He is one of only seven writers in history—and the only Canadian—to win all three of the world’s top awards for best sc... read more

1995 Winner

Virtual Light

Virtual Light By William Gibson

Virtual Light is the first book in William Gibson's Bridge trilogy. Virtual Light is a science-fiction novel set in a postmodern, dystopian, cyberpunk future. The term 'Virtual Light' was coined by scientist Stephen Beck to describe a for... read more

1994 Winner

Nobody's Son

Nobody's Son By Stewart Sean

The magical tale of the unhappy things that happen to a hero after "happily ever after"--a Canadian Library Association Best Young Adult Novel.

1993 Winner

Passion Play

Passion Play By Stewart Sean

Sean Stewart is the acclaimed author of Galveston, The Night Watch, Clouds End , the New York Times Notable Book Resurrection Man , the Aurora Award-winner Nobody's Son , and the Aurora and Arthur Ellis Award-winning debut Passion Play . He ... read more

1991 Winner


Tigana By Guy Gavriel Kay

Tigana (1990) is a fantasy novel by Guy Gavriel Kay, set in a fictional country, the Peninsula of the Palm, that somewhat resembles medieval Italy as well as the Peloponnese in shape. Though the Peninsula of the Palm shares a common culture and langu... read more

1990 Winner

West Of January

West Of January By Dave Duncan

West of January is a fantasy novel by Dave Duncan. The book won the 1990 Aurora Award (Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy) for Best Long-Form Work in English.

1989 Winner

Mona Lisa Overdrive

Mona Lisa Overdrive By William Gibson

Mona Lisa Overdrive is a cyberpunk novel by William Gibson published in 1988 and the final novel of the Sprawl trilogy, following Neuromancer and Count Zero. It takes place eight years after the events of Count Zero and is set, as were its predecesso... read more

1987 Winner

Wandering Fire, The

Wandering Fire, The By Guy Gavriel Kay

The Wandering Fire is the second novel of The Fionavar Tapestry trilogy by Guy Gavriel Kay. The Summer Tree is the first.

Search for Books