Skip to content

Biblio logo: Used, Rare and Collectible Books for Sale

Philip K. Dick Award

Philip K. Dick was a visionary member of the Science Fiction community, and the Philip K. Dick Trust with the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society has been awarding the Philip K. Dick Award for excellence in Science Fiction since 1982. The award is presented annually from a choice of several nominated works. True to the spirit of the Science Fiction genre, only books published originally in paperback are eligible for nomination. Although rare, there are occasionally ties and there are some years that have a winner and a special mention of another work.

PKD is one of the best-known writers in Science Fiction, and one of his novels, Day of the Triffids, was adapted into the famous film Blade Runner. PKD was a highly influential author, so it is only appropriate that a literary award for distinguished Science Fiction was started in his name. The award was founded by fellow Science Fiction author Thomas M. Disch, and the first winner of the Philip K. Dick Award was Rudy Rucker for Software.

Other past winners include Pat Murphy for Points of Departure, Tim Powers for Dinner at Deviant's Place, and William Gibson for Neuromancer.

2009 Winner

Bitter Angels

Bitter Angels By C L Anderson

C.L. Anderson has been known to tell people she lives in a stately Victorian home on a windswept island in Lake Superior with her three sisters and their pet wolf Manfred.  She has also been known to tell people she is a scie... read more

2007 Winner

Nova Swing

Nova Swing By M John Harrison

M. John Harrison is the award-winning author of eight previous novels and four collections of short stories. His fifth novel, Viriconium , was shortlisted for the Guardian Fiction Prize and his sixth, Climbers, won the Boardman Tasker Award. Ligh... read more

2006 Winner

Spin Control

Spin Control By Chris Moriarty

Call Arkady a clone with a conscience. Or call him a traitor. A member of the space-faring Syndicates, Arkady has defected to Israel with a hot commodity: a genetic weapon powerful enough to wipe out humanity. But Israel's not buying it. They're se... read more

2005 Winner

War Surf

War Surf By Buckner M M

What would you do if you were rich, bright, vigorous, virtually immortal—and nearly bored to death?You'd invent a thrill sport..."An Innovative and exciting read. A treat." – C.J. Cherryh"Buckner hits another homerun...action, character, drama, ... read more

2003 Winner

Altered Carbon

Altered Carbon By Richard Morgan

Altered Carbon (2002) is a hardboiled science fiction novel by Richard K. Morgan. Set some five hundred years in the future in a universe in which the United Nations Protectorate oversees a number of extrasolar planets settled by human beings, it fea... read more

2001 Winner

Ship Of Fools

Ship Of Fools By Richard Paul Russo

Richard Paul Russo is the author of the Philip K. Dick Award-winning novel, Ship of Fools , and the critically-acclaimed Carlucci series, including Destroying Angel , Carlucci's Edge , and Carlucci's Heart . ... read more

2000 Winner

Only Forward

Only Forward By Michael Marshall Smith

Only Forward is the debut novel of author Michael Marshall Smith. First published in 1994 by HarperCollins, it was the winner of the August Derleth Award (1995) and Philip K. Dick Award (2000)

1999 Winner

Vacuum Diagrams

Vacuum Diagrams By Stephen Baxter

Vacuum Diagrams is a collection of science fiction short stories written by Stephen Baxter. The collection connects the novels of the Xeelee Sequence and also shows the history of mankind in the Xeelee universe, and ultimately the universe. While eac... read more

1998 Winner

1996 Winner

Time Ships, The

Time Ships, The By Stephen Baxter

The Time Ships is a 1995 science fiction novel by Stephen Baxter. A sequel to The Time Machine by H. G. Wells, it was officially authorized by the Wells estate to mark the centenary of the original's publication. It won the John W. Campbell Memor... read more

1994 Winner


Mysterium By Robert Charles Wilson

Mysterium may mean: Mysterium (Scriabin), an unfinished work by the Russian composer Alexander Scriabin. Mysterium, a science-fiction novel from 1994 by Robert Charles Wilson. Mysterium, an annual conference concerned with the Myst franchise of compu... read more

1993 Winner


Elvissey By Jack Womack

Elvissey (1993) is a Jack Womack science fiction novel, one of his Dryco series, set in a dystopian 2033 CE. The fictional universe is dominated by a Machiavellian multinational corporation and its plans for global domination of its world, and beset ... read more

1987 Winner

Strange Toys

Strange Toys By Patricia Geary

Strange Toys is a fantasy novel written by Patricia Geary and published in 1987. It won the Philip K. Dick Award that year.

1986 Winner


Homunculus By James P Blaylock

The Homunculus is a fantasy novel by author David H. Keller, M.D.. It was first published in 1949 by Prime Press in an edition of 2,112 copies of which 112 were slipcased and signed by the author.

1984 Winner


Neuromancer By William Gibson

Neuromancer is a 1984 novel by William Gibson, notable for being the most famous early cyberpunk novel and winner of the science-fiction "triple crown"—the Nebula Award, the Philip K. Dick Award, and the Hugo Award. It was Gibson's fi... read more

1983 Winner

The Anubis Gates

The Anubis Gates By Tim Powers

The Anubis Gates is a time travel fantasy novel by Tim Powers. It won the 1983 Philip K. Dick Award and 1984 Science Fiction Chronicle Award.

Search for Books