Skip to content

Biblio logo: Used, Rare and Collectible Books for Sale

Arthur C. Clarke Award

Presented annually for the best science fiction novel published in the United Kingdom during the previous year, the Arthur C. Clarke Award is widely considered the most prestigious award for science fiction literature. Started by the Arthur C. Clarke Foundation in 1987, the Arthur C. Clarke Award winner is chosen by a jury comprised of members of the British Science Fiction Association, SCI-FI-LONDON film festival, and the Science Fiction Association. The winner receives a plague, bookends, and a cash prize equivalent for the winning year (£2014 for 2014).

Arthur C. Clarke is best known for his 1968 science fiction novel 2001: A Space Odyssey, and Clarke was an incredibly influential author in the genre of science fiction. Wanting to acknowledge and support other science fiction writers Clarke used grant funds from his foundation to begin the Arthur C. Clark Award.

Notably, although many consider the genre to be a boy's club, the first Arthur C. Clark Award was presented to Margaret Atwell for her wonderful and devastating novel, A Handmaid's Tale. Other past winners have included Christopher Priest for The Separation, Geoff Ryman for The Child Garden, and Bruce Sterling for Distraction.

2011 Winner

Zoo City By Lauren Beukes

LAUREN BEUKES is a writer, TV scriptwriter and recovering journalist. For the sake of a story, she’s jumped out of planes and into shark-infested waters and hung out with teen vampires, township vigilantes, and AIDS activists among other intere... read more

2010 Winner

The City & the City

The City & the City By China Mieville

China Miéville is the author of King Rat ; Perdido Street Station, winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award and the British Fantasy Award; The Scar , winner of the Locus Award and the British Fantasy Award; Iron Council , winner of the Locus ... read more

2009 Winner

2007 Winner

Nova Swing

Nova Swing By M John Harrison

M. John Harrison is the award-winning author of eight previous novels and four collections of short stories. His fifth novel, Viriconium , was shortlisted for the Guardian Fiction Prize and his sixth, Climbers, won the Boardman Tasker Award. Ligh... read more

2005 Winner

Iron Council

Iron Council By China Mieville

Iron Council (2004) is the fourth novel by China Miéville, set in the same universe as his previous books Perdido Street Station (2000) and The Scar (2002), although they can all be read independently of each other. In addition to the steampunk infl... read more

2004 Winner


Quicksilver By Neal Stephenson

Set against the backdrop of the late 17th and early 18th centuries, Quicksilver tells the intertwining tales of 3 unforgettable main characters (descendants of characters from Cryptonomicon) as they traverse a landscape populated by mad alchemists, B... read more

2001 Winner

Perdido Street Station

Perdido Street Station By China Mieville

Perdido Street Station is the second published novel by China Miéville, and the first in a series that is set in the fictional world of Bas-Lag, a world where both magic (referred to as 'thaumaturgy') and steampunk technology exist. Perdido ... read more

2000 Winner


Distraction By Bruce Sterling

Distraction is the diversion of attention of an individual or group from the chosen object of attention onto the source of distraction. Distraction is caused by one of the following: lack of ability to pay attention; lack of interest in the object of... read more

1998 Winner

The Sparrow

The Sparrow By Mary Doria Russell

The Sparrow is a novel about a remarkable man, a living saint, a life-long celibate and Jesuit priest, who undergoes an experience so harrowing and profound that it makes him question the existence of God. This experience--the first contact between h... read more

1997 Winner

Calcutta Chromosome

Calcutta Chromosome By Amitav Ghosh

The Calcutta Chromosome is a 1996 English Language novel by Indian author Amitav Ghosh. The book, for the most part set in Calcutta at some unspecified time in the future, is a medical thriller that dramatizes the adventures of apparently disconnecte... read more

1994 Winner


Vurt By Jeff Noon

Vurt is a 1993 science fiction novel written by British author Jeff Noon. Both Noon and small publishing house Ringpull's debut novel, it went on to win the 1994 Arthur C. Clarke Award and was later listed in The Best Novels of the Nineties.

1990 Winner

The Child Garden

The Child Garden By Geoff Ryman

The Child Garden is a 1989 science fiction novel by Geoff Ryman. It won both the Arthur C. Clarke Award and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award in 1990. The novel is structured as two books with a brief introduction. The first book was originally pub... read more

1987 Winner

The Handmaid's Tale

The Handmaid's Tale By Margaret Atwood

The Handmaid’s Tale is a dystopian novel written by Margaret Atwood in 1985. It depicts a totalitarian world known as Gilead, portraying the subjection of women in a patriarchal society. The near-future New England setting illustrates a bl... read more

Search for Books